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ORDER OF THE
STATESUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION
AMENDING RULES

The state superintendent of public instruction hereby renumbers P1 37.02 (1), (2), and (3); amends ch. P1 37
(title), P137.01, P137.03, P1 37.04, and PI 37.05; and creates PI 37.02 (1), (2), (3), (7), and (8), relating to grants for
national teacher certification and master educator licensure.

ANALYSIS BY THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION
Statute interpreted: Section 115.42, Wis. Stats.
Statutory authority: Section 115.42 (4), Wis. Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:

Section 115.42 (4), Wis. Stats., requires the department to promulgate rules to implement and administer this
program, including all of the following:

e Theapplication process, including necessary documentation.
e The selection process for grant recipients.
e The number of times that a teacher may be exempt from continuing professional education requirements.

Related statute or rule:
Chapter P1 34, Wis. Admin. Code.
Plain language analysis:

There are two ways an individual may receive a grant under the national teacher certification or master educator
licensure program under s. 115.42, Stats.:

e Through anational process by obtaining a national certificate issued by the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards (NBPTS).
e Through astate process by completing the Wisconsin master educator assessment process.

Previous language under s. 115.42, Stats., allowed only persons certified through the national process to be awarded
grants of up to $2,000 for the first year and $2,500 annually for nine years thereafter if certain conditions were met.
2007 Wisconsin Act 20, the biennial budget bill, modified s. 115.42, Stats., to allow persons receiving master
educator licenses through the state process to also receive the grants. In addition, the Act provided an incentive to
grant recipients to work in high poverty schools. Finally, the Act allows master educators through the state process
to be exempt from continuing education requirements as are teachers certified through the national process.
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To reflect statutory language, Chapter PI 37, Wis. Admin. Code, relatingto Grants for National Teacher Certification,
is being modified to: 1) allow master educators that have completed the Wisconsin master educator assessment
process to receive a grant under the program, 2) allow master educators receiving licenses through the state process or
teachers certified through the national process to receive $5,000 (rather than $2,500) if they work in a school in
which at least 60 percent of the pupils enrolled are eligible for free or reduced-price lunch, and 3) allow master
educators receiving licenses through the state process to be exempt from continuing education requirements.

The rules are also being modified to clarify that:

o The term “teacher” includes school psychologists, school counselors, and school social workers who are not
under contract as an administrator.

e A teacher must be working for a minimum of 40 percent full-time equivalency for at least 180 days in a
school year to qualify for a grant.

e A teacher may renew his or her 10-year national board certification or Wisconsin master educator license and
continue receiving a grant under this program.

The provisions allowing teachers who have completed the state process to receive grants under this program first
applies to persons who were licensed as Wisconsin master educators by the department on or after July 1, 2005.

The provision allowing teachers to receive $5,000, rather than $2,500, if employed in high poverty districts first
applies to persons applyingfor a grant on or after July 1, 2007.

The provision requiring an applicant to work 40 percent full-time equivalency for at least 180 days in a school year
first applies to persons applyingfor a grant on or after July 1, 2008.

Emergency rules were promulgated effective May 17, 2008, in order to establish the new application criteria and
procedures to award grants to eligible applicants in the 2007-08 school year.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulations: None.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Michigan and Minnesota - do not have rules relating to grants for national board certified teachers or state certified
master educators.

lowa - As of December 31, 2007, funds will no longer be available to new candidates. However, lowa did provide a
grant program to national board certified teachers (NBCTSs) prior to that date. NBCTs that received the grant will be
able to complete the 10 year grant process. To be eligible, an applicant must meet all of the following:

e Theindividual is a national board certified (NBC) teacher.
e Theindividual is a teacher.

e Theindividual is employed by aschool district in lowa.
e Theindividual receives a salary as a classroom teacher.
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e Theindividual completes the application process.
e The individual has not received an NBC annual award for more than ten years.

The initial award is for one-half of the reimbursement fee charged by the NBPTS, or a prorated amount, if funds are
not available.

An eligible teacher who received NBC certification prior to May 1, 2000, will receive an annual award of up to
$5,000 or a prorated amount for a period of ten years or until the teacher’s total state annual award amount reaches
$50,000. An eligible teacher who received NBC certification after May 1, 2000 will receive an annual award of up to
$2,500 or a prorated amount for a maximum of ten years. An otherwise eligible teacher who possesses a teaching
contract that is less than full-time shall receive an award prorated to reflect the type of contract (i.e. half-time, quarter-
time, etc.).

It is unclear as to whether lowa has a state master educator certification process.

Illinois — Requires persons holding a certificate issued by the NBPTS to apply for a master certificate. Holders of an
Illinois master certificate who are employed for no less than the equivalent of half of the school year as a teacher or
school counselor in a public school setting are eligible for a $3,000 stipend. If funding s limited, this amount may be
prorated and grant awards may be prioritized. Holders of an Illinois master certificate shall be eligible for an annual
incentive pay ment for each year during which:

e Heor sheholds a certificate issued by the NBPTS.

e Heorsheisemployed by aschool district or other public entity providingearly childhood, elementary, or
secondary education.

e Heorsheworks no less than the equivalent of half the school year.

Additional incentives are provided for applicants that meet further requirements such as providingat least 60 hours of
mentoring to classroom teachers.

Illinois does not have a state master educator certification process.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The intent of awarding grants under this program is to encourage teachers to obtain this rigorous certification and use
these skills directly with pupils to improve student achievement.

In its 2007-09 biennial budget request, the department requested that the national teacher certification grant program
be expanded to allow teachers receiving master educator licenses through the state process to receive the same grants as
those teachers receiving licenses through national certification. To address the needs of high poverty schools that have
difficulty attracting highly qualified teachers, the department also proposed to double the amount awarded ($5,000,
rather than $2,500) to persons applying for continuing grants under s. 115.42 (2), Stats., if those persons are
employed in aschool in which at least 60 percent of the school’s pupil population is eligible for free or reduced -price
lunch under 42 USC 1758 (b).
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To encourage individuals to become state certified master educators, the department created a pilot program for FY06
and FYO7 to pay up to $2,000 to each applicant who successfully completed the process. Applicants that
completed the Wisconsin assessment process received a Wisconsin M aster Educator License and received an “initial”
grant from the department using federal Title I1-A, Elementary and Secondary Education Act funds. Because those
funds were limited and not available for long-term obligation, these individuals did not receive “continuing” grants of
$2,500. These individuals should be rewarded for participating in the pilot program and receive the $2,500 (or
$5,000) grant for nine years just as future Wisconsin master educators will receive these funds. Therefore, an initial
applicability section was included in the law (and the rule) to clarify the grant program applies to those master
educators who were licensed by the department on or after July 1, 2005.

2007 Wisconsin Act 20 included these provisions in the law and the rule is now being modified to reflect those
changes.

The rules are also being modified to clarify that:

e A teacher must be working for a minimum of 40 percent full-time equivalency for at least 180 days in a
school year to qualify for a grant. This provision will require teachers to be employed as teachers to be
eligible to receive a grant.

e The term “teacher” includes school psychologists, school counselors and school social workers who are not
administrators. The Wisconsin master educator assessment process offers licensure in areas not currently
offered under the NBPTS, including school administration categories and school psychologists, school
counselors, and school social workers. The legislature wanted the program to be expanded to “teachers” but
not to “school administration categories.” Because individuals with non-administrative school psychologist,
counselor, and social worker licenses directly serve pupils, the department asserts they should be included in
the category of teachers for purposes of these grants.

e A teacher may renew his or her 10-year national board certification or Wisconsin master educator license and
continue receiving a grant under this program. The certification of first round national board certified teachers
will expire next year. This provision will clarify that they may re-apply for grants if they renew their
national certification. Subsequent national board certified teachers or Wisconsin master educator licensed
teachers would be eligible to receive a grant upon renewal of their certification or license.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in preparation of
economic impact report: N/A.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: N/A.
Effect on small business:

The proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.

Agency contact person: (including email and telephone)
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Tammy Huth, Assistant Director, Teacher Education, Professional Development and Licensing, (608) 266-1788 or
tammy.huth@dpi.wi.gov.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

The department will publish a hearing notice in the Administrative Register which will include this information.

SECTION 1. Chapter PI 37 (title) is amended to read:
Chapter P1 37
GRANTS FOR NATIONAL TEACHER CERTIFICATION OR MASTER EDUCATOR LICENSURE

SECTION 2. PI137.01 is amended to read:
P137.01 Purpose. Unders. 115.42, Stats., the state superintendent shall award grants to eligible applicants

who are certified by the national board for professional teaching standards or licensed by the department as a master

educator under s. P1 34.19. This chapter sets forth criteria and procedures for awarding grants under this program.

This chapter also specifies continuing professional education exemptions for national board certificate holders and

master educator license holders.

SECTION 3. P137.02 (1), (2), and (3) are renumbered P1 37.02 (4), (5), and (6).

SECTION 4. PI137.02 (1), (2), (3), (7) and (8) are created to read:

P137.02 (1) “Department” means the Wisconsin department of public instruction.

(2) “Employed as a teacher” means a person working as a teacher for a minimum of 40 percent full-time
equivalency for at least 180 days in a school year.

(3) “National board certification” or “national board certificate” means a certificate issued by the national
board for professional teaching standards.

(7) “Teacher” means properly licensed persons delivering instruction to pupils; or school psychologists,
school counselors, or school social workers. “Teacher” does not include a person working under a contract as an
administrator.

(8) “Wisconsin master educator” means a teacher who has completed the Wisconsin master educator
assessment process and is licensed under s. Pl 34.19.

SECTION 5. P11 37.03, PI 37.04, and Pl 37.05 are amended to read:
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P137.03 Grants for national board certification. (1) ELIGIBILITY. (a) Annually by June 30, a person

meeting all of the following requirements may apply to the state superintendent for a grant in the amount equal to the

costs of obtaining or renewing a national board certification or Wisconsin master educator license that are borne by the

person, not to exceed $2,000:

1. The person is certified by the national board for professional teaching standards or licensed as a Wisconsin

master educator.

2. The person is licensed as a teacher by the state superintendent or employed as a teacher in a private school
located in this state.
3. The person is employed as a teacher in this state.

(b) Rersens Except as provided under par. (c), persons receiving a grant under par. (a) may apply annually by

June 30 in each of the 9 school years followingthe school year in which he or she received the grant to the state

superintendent for a $2,500 grant if the person satisfies all of the following requirements:

1. The person maintains his or her national board certification by-the-national-beard-forprofessional-teaching

standards or Wisconsin master educator license.

2. The person maintains his or her license as a teacher by the state superintendent or remains employed in a
private school located in this state.
3. The person remains employed as a teacher in this state.

(c) The amount of each grant under par. (b) shall be $5,000 in any school year in which the recipient is

employed as a teacher in a school in which at least 60 percent of the pupils enrolled are eligible for a free or reduced -

price lunch under 42 USC 1758 (b).

(2) APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS. A person applyingfor a grant under this chapter shall provide the
state superintendent with all of the following information:

(a) A certified copy of the applicant’s national board certificate or Wisconsin master educator license.

(b) A letter form provided by the department verifying employment from the employing public or private

school administrator or his or her designee indicating that the applicant is employed as a teacher in this state.

(c) Verification that the applicant is employed as a teacher in a school in which at least 60 percent of the

pupils enrolled are eligible for a free or reduced price lunch under 42 USC 1758 (b), if applicable.

Note: Pl 1678, Employment Verification for National Teacher Certification by NBPTS or Wisconsin M aster

Educator License by WM EAP, may be obtained at no charge from the Department of Public Instruction, P.O. Box
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7841, M adison, W1 53707-7841 or by goingto the department’s web site at http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/nbtopics.html

or http://dpi.wi.cov/tepdl/wmeap.html.

P137.04 Exemption from continuing education requirements. (1) (a) A person holding national board
certification as-efJuly-1.-2000 shal-be-granted or a Wisconsin master educator license under s. Pl 34.19 and shall be
exempt from meeting the continuing professional education credit requirements under s. Pl 34.19 (5) as long as the

national board certification or Wisconsin master educator license is effective.

(b) For persons seeking an a national board certification exemption under par. (a), the effective date of a state

license shall coincide with the effective date of the national board certification.

(2) A person who applies for and completes the process for national board certification or Wisconsin master

educator assessment shall renew his or her state license upon its expiration but he or she is exempt from meeting the

continuing professional education credit requirements under s. Pl 34.18 (2) regardless if he or she receives the national

certification or Wisconsin master educator license.

Note: A certificate issued by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards and a Wisconsin master

educator license is effective for 10 years.

P137.05 Review of applications and awarding of grants. The state superintendent shall review the
applications submitted under this chapter and shall award grants if the applicant meets all of the criteria specified
under s. P137.03.

Note: Additional information regarding the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards may be

obtained by contacting the board at

Wilson Boulevard, Suite 500, Arlington, VA 22209; (703) 465-2700; Website: www.nbpts.org.

P1-1669-Initial, National Teacher Certification by NBPTS Initial Reimbursement Grant Application, may be

obtained at no charge from the Department of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 7841, Madison, WI 53707-7841 or by

going to the department’s web site at http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/nbtopics.html.

P1-1645-Annual, National Teacher Certification by NBPTS Annual Grant Application, may be obtained at

no charge from the Department of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 7841, M adison, W1 53707 -7841 or by goingto the

department’s web site at http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/nbtopics.html.

P1-1677-Initial, M aster Educator License by WM EAP Initial Reimbursement Grant Application, may be

obtained at no charge from the Department of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 7841, M adison, WI 53707-7841 or by

going to the department’s web site at http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/wmeap.html.



http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/nbtopics.html
http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/wmeap.html
http://www.nbpts.org/
http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/nbtopics.html
http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/nbtopics.html
http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/wmeap.html

CHR 08-044
11/21/08
Page 8

P1-1679-Annual, M aster Educator License by WM EAP Annual Grant Application, may be obtained at no

charge from the Department of Public Instruction, P.O. Box 7841, M adison, WI 53707-7841 or by goingto the

department’s web site at http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/wmeap.html.

Additional information regarding Wisconsin incentives may be obtained by contactingthe Department of
Public Instruction Teacher Education and Licensing, P.O. Box 7841, M adison, WI 53707—7841; (608) 266—1879.
SECTION 6 INITIAL APPLICABILITY.

(1) The treatment of SECTION 5, P137.03 (1) (a) and (b), first applies to persons who were licensed as
Wisconsin master educators by the department of public instruction on or after July 1, 2005.

(2) The treatment of SECTION 5, P137.03 (1) (c), first applies to persons applying for a grant on or after
July 1, 2007.

(3) The treatment of SECTION 4, P137.02 (2), first applies to persons applying for a grant on or after July
1, 2008.

The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month commencing after the date of
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats.

Dated this day of November, 2008

Elizabeth Burmaster
State Superintendent
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